Larry Auster, American Hero

Larry Auster is dying. Which is a tragedy for not only his friends and family, but America. Because Larry Auster is an American hero. I, like many people Larry has never met, and sadly never will, owe him a great debt. But so too do the American people. Because of his example of heroism, pure and simple.

Why is Larry Auster not just a hero, but an American hero? The answer is simple. Not only has Larry conducted himself, at the end of his life, with grace under pressure and masculine strength, he has lived his whole life in the same way. Larry Auster, almost alone, has shown that one can be quite critical of multiculturalism, of political correctness, and the absolute disaster of the conduct by and large of the Black and Hispanic populations, without descending into hatred, racism, and anti-semitism.

To put it simply, Larry Auster does not hate. Because that emotion is anti-American. Through his writings and personal conduct, Larry has upheld the traditional values that have made America great: toleration, but within distinct boundaries, reverence for our forefathers and their considerable sacrifices, and the wisdom of the core of tradition, while being willing to update the outer edges of tradition to fit new circumstances.

Larry has done so at considerable professional and personal cost. While there are many that can see the rotten-ness of political correctness, of multiculturalism, most of them fall into the trap of anti-semitism, the mark of a weak mind seeking scapegoats instead of the real problem. The rest seem to fall into the equally deadly trap of hating Black or Hispanic peoples. Another trap for the mind and spirit, that leads people to dismiss individual heroism and fails to hold peoples to account.

You see, Larry is a hero. He avoided these traps, by strength of spirit and sheer willpower. That’s the mark of a hero.

Meanwhile, Larry much like Jesus when tempted, abjured the riches, power, social acclaim, and fantastic career that was open to him if he merely followed the PC path of say, David Frum. The nominal “conservative” who exists merely to bash other conservatives while enforcing the dictates against “crimethink.” Let us be plain, Larry could have made millions and millions of dollars, been on CNN, MSNBC, NBC, FOX, and many other outlets on a weekly basis if he had just betrayed his principles and what he knew to be true. He did not.

That makes him a hero.

On a personal level, Larry has always been in correspondence, kind and gracious. I’ve always felt that when Larry answered an email, it was like corresponding with say, Dwight Eisenhower or Winston Churchill. A man from another, better century, filled with Old World politeness and grace. I have never seen Larry use obscenities, curse, make personal attacks, or otherwise conduct himself like far too many do on the internet. Larry IS a man, not a boy, and acts that way through and through.

Larry is a good man, who through sheer effort of will, has hung on to life far longer than I suspect, his doctors had thought possible. His writings, which by the way should and hopefully will be archived, have opened many thousands of eyes towards the possibility of saving or sustaining at least a part of what made America the greatest country in the history of mankind. There are many kinds of patriotism, and it is a mark of Larry’s that in his last moments, he has exhibited his finest hours: spending them in an effort to spark that one bit of reform that can save America.

I ask that all who have enjoyed his writings give a prayer of thanks to Larry, and carry on his fight. Because a hero deserves no less.

About whiskeysplace

Conservative blogger focusing on culture, business, technology, and how they intersect.
This entry was posted in heroes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Larry Auster, American Hero

  1. WeadGuhrtl says:

    Yeah, it seems like the cancer is going to kill him pretty soon.

    Where have you been, Whiskey? It’s been two months since you last posted – this is only the second post you’ve made this year.

    I’ve been reading a lot of your posts again, and I’m not sure about the truth of some of what you write. In many of your posts there is this focus on the theme of how white, Western women have come to despise white, Western men. I’m not sure to what extent this is true.

    Certainly where I live, there isn’t that much evidence for this claim being true.

  2. MarkyMark says:

    Bravo, Whiskey…

  3. Anonymous says:

    Lame. Auster is a smart, unassuming looking guy with seemingly nothing to lose… in NEW YORK CITY.

    Hello?

    Time Break Bad, Larry.

  4. Rum says:

    I agree in every way with your take on Larry Auster.

    I have known a few people in real life who, my gut tells me, are a great deal like him.
    Highly idealistic, maybe naive about somethings(iows females), and sort of wrong about some others, from time to time. But all of that is absolutely trivial compared to the enormous and indestructible fact that he has lived the last several years as the exact opposite of a coward and when, a hundred years from now when we are all at wherever the dead go to, anyone alive who is sifting thru the archives cannot help but admire and celebrate for him being mostly right most of the time, as well as having the heart and guts of a lion.
    His story will be told around the campfires for a good long time. For the rest of us… it remains to be seen.
    May he die an Old Man, and full of days.

  5. Remnant says:

    Whiskey, this has got to be an amazing coincidence (something Auster loves to comment on). Very shortly after you posted this tribute, Auster posted an interview a friend conducted with him where he discusses how he came to write the Path to National Suicide. Among the key topics he discusses is precisely his lack of hate (something I don’t believe he has really mentioned at length before) including the following:

    “From this experience or glimpse or daydream of ultimate unity and love I realized that I did not hate anyone. I felt other people were human beings like myself and basically the same as I, as human beings. So hatred and fear, at the deepest level—or not even hatred but the fear of hatred, the fear of me hating other people—was gone. It was removed from me. Not only that, but it never came back afterwards. And I always believed that this experience had come to me from Meher Baba, or from God. It was a gift from God.”

    http://www.amnation.com/vfr/archives/024324.html

  6. Remnant says:

    Auster picked up on the very thing I pointed out in my comment. He was responded to Whiskey and noted:

    “On another point, Whiskey praises me for my lack of hate. He posted his article March 7 just before my article was posted on the evening of March 7 in which I discussed at some length my lack of hate. It’s a major point in the article, and one that I don’t think I’ve emphasized before.,

    “Synchronicity strikes again!”

  7. Harry Baldwin says:

    Whiskey, I’m sorry you never got to meet Larry Auster. As a regular (pseudonymous) commenter at his site, I was blessed to be able to attend the dinners held in his honor in NYC in 2010, 2011, and 2012. I am in awe of his intellectual powers and have been chastened by him occasionally for what he saw as errors in my thinking, and so it was some trepidation that I first met him face to face. I was happy to find him gracious, congenial, and easy to talk to. He is a great man and irreplaceable.

Comments are closed.