Lawrence Auster Update

Larry Auster has kindly written me to clarify the following:

However, there’s one thing I must correct you on. I never had the possibility of a renumerative mainstream career. So I did not sacrifice that. I just did what I had to do, what I was compelled to do. As I explain in the article posted last night, “How I came to write The Path to National Suicide,” I became a writer not out of choice, but because I had to write about the subject of immigration. It was against my will. I hated the thought of doing it, until a certain experience, described in the article, liberated me to do it.

I’ve never had any mainstream “moves” in my makeup. I’ve been a solitary intellectual seeker and spiritual seeker all my life, and a misfit in mainstream society. I’ve never had a normal career. Even if I had wanted to, I could not have had a mainstream career as a writer, because writing for money or fame or whatever was simply not part of my makeup. Everything I’ve written, I’ve written because it’s been intensely important me to say something that I had to say. I can’t write any other way.

So I hope you correct or change the point in your blog entry that I made some great sacrifice. Or, for that matter, you could post this e-mail.

“Everything I’ve written, I’ve written because it’s been intensely important me to say something that I had to say. I can’t write any other way.”

No, that’s not entirely true. I’ve done writing jobs for money. And I didn’t mind doing it, I liked it. But generally they were odd jobs that came my way, that people offered to me. I never sought such jobs.

Mr. Auster — consider that clarified. Though in my own personal opinion, Larry Auster has a talent given from God. Considering that people like David Frum, or Thomas Friedman, or Maureen Dowd, make millions from offering comfortable and demonstrably false platitudes reinforcing the flaccid conventional wisdom of the elite (see also Malcolm Gladwell) I don’t think it is stretching things to feel that Auster could have made a lot of money and even more fame EVEN IF he did not seek them.

If blood will out, so will talent. And Larry Auster has that in spades.

But you can’t argue with the man himself and consider that clarified.

About whiskeysplace

Conservative blogger focusing on culture, business, technology, and how they intersect.
This entry was posted in heroes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lawrence Auster Update

  1. whorefinder says:

    Update more, whiskey! You rock like granite!

    Also, RAPE!

Comments are closed.